Desktop and Mobile Browsers That Support SNI

Apache v2.2.12 and OpenSSL v0.9.8j and later support a transport layer security (TLS) called SNI. SNI can secure multiple Apache sites using a single SSL Certificate and use multiple SSL Certificates to secure various websites on a single domain (e.g., or across multiple domains (,—all from a single IP address. For more information on SNI and instructions to set it up, see using multiple SSL Certificates in Apache.

Since SNI is fairly new, browsers are only recently supporting SNI. We recommend that you review the list below and carefully decide if SNI is good fit for your SSL websites' requirements.

Desktop Browsers

  • Internet Explorer 7 and later
  • Firefox 2
  • Opera 8 with TLS 1.1 enabled
  • Google Chrome:
        Supported on Windows XP on Chrome 6 and later
        Supported on Vista and later by default
        OS X 10.5.7 in Chrome Version 5.0.342.0 and later
  • Safari 2.1 and later (requires OS X 10.5.6 and later or Windows Vista and later).
  • Note: No versions of Internet Explorer on Windows XP support SNI

Mobile Browsers

  • Mobile Safari for iOS 4.0
  • Android 3.0 (Honeycomb) and later
  • Windows Phone 7