什么是SSL
证书?

了解安全套接字层(SSL)
协议、SSL证书的工作原理,以及
它们对互联网安全至关重要的原因。

什么是TLS/SSL证书,它的工作原理是什么?

SSL证书创建加密连接并建立信任。

线上业务最重要的组成部分之一就是创建一个可信任的环境,让潜在客户在进行购买时感到放心。SSL证书通过建立安全连接来建立信任的基础。为了使网站访客确信其连接是安全的,浏览器提供了特殊的视觉提示,我们将其称为EV指示器——从绿色挂锁到品牌化URL栏的任何东西。

SSL证书有一个密钥对:一个公钥和一个私钥。这些密钥协同工作以建立加密连接。证书还包含所谓的“主体”,即证书/网站所有者的身份。

要获取证书,您必须要在您的服务器上创建证书签名请求(CSR)。此流程会在您的服务器上创建私钥和公钥。您发送给SSL证书颁发者(称为证书颁发机构或CA)的CSR数据文件包含公钥。CA使用CSR数据文件创建数据结构以匹配您的私钥,而不会泄露密钥。CA永远不会看到私钥。

您收到SSL证书后,将其安装在您的服务器上。您还可以安装一个中间证书,该证书将您的SSL证书绑定到CA的根证书,从而建立您的SSL证书的可信度。安装和测试证书的说明会根据服务器的不同而有所不同。

在下图中,您可以看到所谓的证书链。它通过中间证书将您的服务器证书连接到CA的根证书(在本例中为DigiCert)。

SSL证书的最重要之处在于DigiCert等受信任的CA对其进行了数字签名。任何人都可以创建证书,但浏览器只信任来自其受信任CA列表中的组织的证书。浏览器带有预安装的受信任CA列表,此列表被称为受信任的根CA存储。为了进入受信任的根CA存储并因此成为证书颁发机构,这类企业必须遵守浏览器制定的安全和身份验证标准并据此接受审核。

CA向某组织及其域名/网站颁发的SSL证书能够验证,受信任的第三方已经对该组织的身份进行了身份验证。由于浏览器信任CA,因此现在浏览器信任该组织的身份。浏览器让用户知道,该网站是安全的,并且用户可以放心浏览该网站,甚至输入其机密信息。

什么是安全套接字层(SSL)?

安全套接字层(SSL)是一种标准安全技术,用于在服务器和客户端之间建立加密链接——通常是Web服务器(网站)和浏览器,或电子邮件服务器和电子邮件客户端(例如Outlook)之间。它比TLS或传输层安全性(SSL的后继技术)更加广为人知。

SSL能实现信用卡号、社会保险号和登录凭据等敏感信息的安全传输。通常,浏览器和Web服务器之间发送的数据以纯文本形式发送,这让您很容易遭到窃听。如果攻击者能够拦截浏览器和Web服务器之间发送的所有数据,他们就可以查看和使用该信息。

更具体地说,SSL是一种安全协议。协议描述了应该如何使用算法。在这种情况下,SSL协议会为链接和传输中的数据确定加密变量。

所有浏览器都能够使用SSL协议与受保护的Web服务器进行交互。然而,浏览器和服务器需要所谓的SSL证书才能建立安全连接。

SSL每天在互联网上保护数百万人的数据,尤其是在线上交易或机密信息传输的过程之中。互联网用户已经开始将其线上安全与受SSL保护的网站所显示的挂锁图标或受扩展验证SSL保护的网站所显示的绿色地址栏相关联。受SSL保护的网站以“https”而不是“http”开头。

已经对SSL证书和技术的基础知识有所了解?请了解有关SSL加密的信息

SSL证书如何建立安全连接?

当浏览器试图访问受SSL保护的网站时,浏览器和Web服务器使用所谓的“SSL握手”流程建立SSL连接(见下图)。请注意,SSL握手对用户是不可见的,并且是即时发生的。

实质上,建立SSL连接使用了三个密钥:公钥、私钥和会话密钥。任何使用公钥加密的内容只能用私钥解密,反之亦然。
由于使用私钥和公钥进行加密与解密需要大量的处理能力,因此它们仅在SSL握手期间被用于创建对称会话密钥。安全连接建立之后,会话密钥被用于加密所有被传输的数据。

  1. 浏览器连接到使用SSL(https)保护的Web服务器(网站)。浏览器请求服务器标识自己的身份。
  2. 服务器发送其SSL证书的副本,包括服务器的公钥。
  3. 浏览器根据受信任CA列表检查证书根,并检查该证书是否未过期、未吊销,以及其通用名称是否对拟连接的网站有效。如果浏览器信任该证书,它会使用服务器的公钥创建、加密并传回对称会话密钥。
  4. 服务器使用其私钥解密对称会话密钥,并传回使用会话密钥加密的确认以开启加密会话。
  5. 服务器和浏览器现在使用会话密钥加密所有被传输的数据。

我的证书是SSL还是TLS?

SSL协议一直被用于加密和保护被传输的数据。每次发布更安全的新版本时,只会更改版本号以反映更改(例如SSLv2.0)。然而,当需要从SSLv3.0更新时,没有将新版本命名为SSLv4.0,而是将其重新命名为TLSv1.0。我们目前使用TLSv1.3。

由于SSL仍然是更加广为人知、更常用的术语,因此DigiCert在提及证书或描述被传输数据的安全性时使用TLS/SSL。如果您在我们这里购买SSL证书(例如标准SSL、扩展验证SSL等),实际上您将获得TLS证书(RSA或ECC)。

TLS/SSL证书用途对比

 

用途

信息类网站或博客

不收集付款信息或敏感信息的网站需要HTTPS来保护用户活动的私密性——甚至博客也是如此。

登录面板与表单

TLS/SSL加密并保护用户名和密码,以及用于提交个人信息、文档或图片的表单。

结帐页面

如果客户知道您的结账区域(以及他们提供的信用卡信息)是安全的,他们就更有可能完成购买。

推荐的TLS/SSL证书类型

OV(组织验证)TLS/SSL证书——级别第二高的真实性和第二严格的组织检查。

OV(组织验证)TLS/SSL证书——级别第二高的真实性和最严格的组织检查。

EV(扩展验证)TLS/SSL证书——最高级别的真实性和最严格的身份检查。

What is an SSL
Certificate ?

Learn about Secure Sockets Layer (SSL)
protocol, how SSL certificates work, and why
they are essential for Internet security.

What is an SSL Certificate and How Does it Work?

SSL certificates create an encrypted connection and establish trust.

One of the most important components of online business is creating a trusted environment where potential customers feel confident in making purchases. SSL certificates create a foundation of trust by establishing a secure connection. To assure visitors their connection is secure, browsers provide special visual cues that we call EV indicators—anything from a green padlock to branded URL bar.

SSL certificates have a key pair: a public and a private key. These keys work together to establish an encrypted connection. The certificate also contains what is called the “subject,” which is the identity of the certificate/website owner.

To get a certificate, you must create a Certificate Signing Request (CSR) on your server. This process creates a private key and public key on your server. The CSR data file that you send to the SSL Certificate issuer (called a Certificate Authority or CA) contains the public key. The CA uses the CSR data file to create a data structure to match your private key without compromising the key itself. The CA never sees the private key.

Once you receive the SSL certificate, you install it on your server. You also install an intermediate certificate that establishes the credibility of your SSL certificate by tying it to your CA’s root certificate. The instructions for installing and testing your certificate will be different depending on your server.

In the image below, you can see what is called the certificate chain. It connects your server certificate to the CA’s root certificate (in this case DigiCert) through an intermediate certificate.

The most important part of an SSL certificate is that it is digitally signed by a trusted CA, like DigiCert. Anyone can create a certificate, but browsers only trust certificates that come from an organization on their list of trusted CAs. Browsers come with a pre-installed list of trusted CAs, known as the Trusted Root CA store. In order to be added to the Trusted Root CA store and thus become a Certificate Authority, a company must comply with and be audited against security and authentication standards established by the browsers.

An SSL certificate issued by a CA to an organization and its domain/website verifies that a trusted third party has authenticated that organization’s identity. Since the browser trusts the CA, the browser now trusts that organization’s identity too. The browser lets the user know that the website is secure, and the user can feel safe browsing the site and even entering their confidential information.

What is Secure Sockets Layer (SSL)?

Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) is a standard security technology for establishing an encrypted link between a server and a client—typically a web server (website) and a browser, or a mail server and a mail client (e.g., Outlook). It is more widely known than TLS, or Transport Layer Security, the successor technology of SSL.

SSL allows sensitive information such as credit card numbers, social security numbers, and login credentials to be transmitted securely. Normally, data sent between browsers and web servers is sent in plain text—leaving you vulnerable to eavesdropping. If an attacker is able to intercept all data being sent between a browser and a web server, they can see and use that information.

More specifically, SSL is a security protocol. Protocols describe how algorithms should be used. In this case, the SSL protocol determines variables of the encryption for both the link and the data being transmitted.

All browsers have the capability to interact with secured web servers using the SSL protocol. However, the browser and the server need what is called an SSL Certificate to be able to establish a secure connection.

SSL secures millions of peoples’ data on the Internet every day, especially during online transactions or when transmitting confidential information. Internet users have come to associate their online security with the lock icon that comes with an SSL-secured website, or green address bar that comes with an Extended Validation SSL-secured website. SSL-secured websites also begin with “https” rather than “http.”

Already understand the basics of SSL certificates and technology? Learn about SSL cryptography.

How Does the SSL Certificate Create a Secure Connection?

When a browser attempts to access a website that is secured by SSL, the browser and the web server establish an SSL connection using a process called an “SSL Handshake” (see diagram below). Note that the SSL Handshake is invisible to the user and happens instantaneously.

Essentially, three keys are used to set up the SSL connection: the public, private, and session keys. Anything encrypted with the public key can only be decrypted with the private key, and vice versa.
Because encrypting and decrypting with private and public key takes a lot of processing power, they are only used during the SSL Handshake to create a symmetric session key. After the secure connection is made, the session key is used to encrypt all transmitted data.

  1. Browser connects to a web server (website) secured with SSL (https). Browser requests that the server identify itself.
  2. Server sends a copy of its SSL Certificate, including the server’s public key.
  3. Browser checks the certificate root against a list of trusted CAs and that the certificate is unexpired, unrevoked, and that its common name is valid for the website that it is connecting to. If the browser trusts the certificate, it creates, encrypts, and sends back a symmetric session key using the server’s public key.
  4. Server decrypts the symmetric session key using its private key and sends back an acknowledgement encrypted with the session key to start the encrypted session.
  5. Server and Browser now encrypt all transmitted data with the session key.

Is my certificate SSL or TLS?

The SSL protocol has always been used to encrypt and secure transmitted data. Each time a new and more secure version was released, only the version number was altered to reflect the change (e.g., SSLv2.0). However, when the time came to update from SSLv3.0, instead of calling the new version SSLv4.0, it was renamed TLSv1.0. We are currently on TLSv1.3.

Because SSL is still the better known, more commonly used term, DigiCert uses TLS/SSL when referring to certificates or describing how transmitted data is secured. When you purchase an SSL Certificate from us (e.g., Standard SSL, Extended Validation SSL, etc.), you are actually getting a TLS Certificate (RSA or ECC).

Compare TLS/SSL Certificate Uses

 

Uses

Informational sites & blogs

Websites that don't collect payments or sensitive information need HTTPS to keep user activity private-even blogs.

Login panels & forms

TLS/SSL encrypts and protects usernames and passwords, as well as forms used to submit personal information, documents or images.

Checkout pages

Customers are more likely to complete a purchase if they know your checkout area (and the credit card info they share) is secure.

Recommended TLS/SSL Certificate type

OV (Organization Validated) TLS/SSL certificates - The second highest level of authenticity and next most rigorous organiztion checks.

OV (Organization Validated) TLS/SSL certificates - The second highest level of authenticity and most-rigorous organization checks.

EV (Extended Validation) TLS/SSL Certificates - The highest level of authenticity and most-rigorous identity checks.